Hot Yoga …….. The Aftermath

I may have looked fresh faced going in but I certainly didn’t look that way leaving the yoga studio. In fact whatever the polar opposite of fresh is described exactly how I looked at that moment and continued to look for quite some time afterwards. I expected that I would somewhat perspire throughout the class but what I didn’t expect is that sweat would flow so freely from every single pore in my body that I could physically see the tiny droplets hitting the towel covering my yoga mat. To say the Hot Yoga Flow class was intense is something of an understatement.

There were so many moments throughout the class when I could feel my heart pounding and I would think to myself I physically can not do this. As I caught glimpses of blondes with six packs barely breaking a sweat to the side of me I suddenly became all too aware of the limitations of my own yoga practice. Maybe I wasn’t as far along as I believed myself to be. I struggled more than I hoped I would. However, somehow I had done it. I survived sixty whole minutes of feeling like I was being pushed to my absolute limit and wondering why in the world I had thought this to ever be a good idea. I recently read that our bodies are capable of so much more than we could ever believe them to be and never have I seen evidence of this in my own body so much so as I have tonight. So no I may not have been the most toned person in that room, or the most flexible but I achieved what I didn’t think was possible of myself. Whether I would go again I remain firmly seated on the fence. As much as I enjoyed elements of it I am unsure whether to chalk it down to experience and say that I tried it and book myself a place on the next available cat yoga session the minute I get home.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑